About the RTC

Cliffs along Monterey Bay looking South

The Santa Cruz County Regional Transportation Commission (RTC) is an autonomous regional transportation planning agency headquartered in downtown Santa Cruz. Created by the State of California in 1972 to carry out transportation responsibilities that cross city-county boundaries in Santa Cruz County, the RTC:

  • Sets priorities for major improvements to the transportation infrastructure and network of services, including highways, major roads, bus transit, paratransit, rail and alternative transportation facilities;
  • Pursues and allocates funding for major capital improvements to all elements of the transportation system, consistent with long-range plans;
  • Adopts policies to maximize the efficiency of the current transportation system and improve mobility, access and air quality;
  • Plans for future projects and programs to develop a balanced transportation system that addresses all modes, while improving the region’s quality of life;
  • Informs businesses and the public about actions needed to better manage the existing transportation system; and
  • Conducts programs and advocates for the encouraged use of alternative transportation modes.

The Commission consists of all five members of the Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors, one member of the Watsonville, Santa Cruz, Scotts Valley and Capitola City Councils and three members appointed by the Santa Cruz Metropolitan Transit District. The Caltrans District 5 Director serves as an ex-officio member of the Commission. The Commission employs a professional planning and administrative staff.


RTC Rules and Regulations (revised November 3, 2022)

RTC Title VI Civil Rights Program (revised December 2, 2021)

RTC Contact

Yesenia Parra
Administrative Services Officer
(831) 460-3200