Applications for Measure D Taxpayer Oversight Committee Now Being Accepted for Districts 1 & 2 Representatives

The Santa Cruz County Regional Transportation Commission (RTC) is currently accepting applications for the Measure D Taxpayer Oversight Committee for representatives from Districts 1 & 2.

This independent oversight committee is tasked with reviewing how the funds generated by the transportation tax are being spent.

The responsibilities of the Committee include:

  • Reviewing Expenditure Plan expenditures on an annual basis to ensure they conform to the Ordinance
  • Reviewing the annual audit and report prepared by an independent auditor, describing how funds were spent
  • Producing a publicly available Annual Report of Oversight Activities

Members of the Measure D Taxpayer Oversight Committee must be residents of Santa Cruz County who are neither elected officials of any government, nor employees from any agency or organization that either oversees or implements projects funded from the proceeds of the sales tax. The Committee will be made up of community members that fairly represent the geographical, social, cultural, and economic diversity of Santa Cruz County to ensure maximum benefit for transportation users, and it shall include at least one person with an accounting or fiscal management background.

The deadline for applications is Jan. 13, 2023. Applications can be downloaded here.

For more information on the Measure D Taxpayer Oversight Committee, click here.